House Democrats round out leadership team


Rep. Larry Springer

The House Democratic Caucus elected the remaining members of their leadership team today. Adding to the positions previously elected are:

- Jim Moeller (Vancouver): Speaker pro tem-designate
- Tina Orwall (Des Moines): Deputy Speaker pro tem-designate
- Marcie Maxwell (Renton): Deputy Majority Leader for Education and Opportunity
- Larry Springer (Kirkland): Deputy Majority Leader for Jobs and Economic Development
- Joe Fitzgibbon (Burien): Deputy Majority Whip
- Kris Lytton (Anacortes): Deputy Majority Floor Leader

“We have a leadership team that includes Democrats from urban, suburban, and rural Washington,” said House Speaker Frank Chopp. “We’re all in this together, after all, and we want a team that reflects that.”
Members of leadership elected two weeks ago are:

- Frank Chopp (Seattle): House Speaker-designate
- Pat Sullivan (Covington): Majority Leader
- Eric Pettigrew (Seattle): Majority Caucus Chair
- Kevin Van De Wege (Sequim): Majority Whip
- Tami Green (Lakewood): Majority Floor Leader

The Speaker-designate, Speaker pro tem-designate and Deputy Speaker pro-tem designate must be elected by the entire House on the first day of the 2013 session.

This entry was posted in Larry Springer and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.