House committees, chairs approved

The House Democratic Caucus approved the committee structure, chairs and vice-chairs for the upcoming legislative session. Here is the complete list of HDC committee assignments.

Policy Committees

  • Agriculture and Natural Resources: Rep. Brian Blake (Aberdeen), chair; Rep. Kris Lytton (Anacortes), vice-chair
  • Business and Financial Services: Rep. Steve Kirby (Tacoma), chair; Rep. Cindy Ryu (Shoreline), vice-chair
  • Community Development, Housing, and Tribal Affairs: Rep. John McCoy (Tulalip), chair; Rep. Sherry Appleton (Poulsbo), vice-chair
  • Early Learning and Human Services: Rep. Ruth Kagi (Lake Forest Park), chair; Rep. Roger Freeman (Federal Way), vice-chair
  • Education: Rep. Sharon Santos (Seattle), chair; Rep. Monica Stonier (Vancouver), vice-chair
  • Environment: Rep. Dave Upthegrove (Des Moines), chair; Rep. John McCoy (Tulalip), vice-chair
  • Government Accountability and Oversight: Rep. Chris Hurst (Enumclaw), chair; Rep. Sharon Wylie (Vancouver), vice-chair
  • Government Operations and Elections: Rep. Sam Hunt (Olympia), chair; Rep. Steve Bergquist (Renton), vice-chair
  • Health Care and Wellness: Rep. Eileen Cody (West Seattle), chair; Rep. Laurie Jinkins (Tacoma), vice-chair
  • Higher Education: Rep. Larry Seaquist (Gig Harbor), chair; Rep. Gerry Pollet (Seattle), vice-chair
  • Judiciary: Rep. Jamie Pedersen (Seattle), chair; Rep. Drew Hansen (Bainbridge Island), vice-chair
  • Labor and Workforce Development: Rep. Mike Sells (Everett), chair; Rep. Chris Reykdal (Olympia), vice-chair
  • Local Government: Rep. Dean Takko (Longview), chair; Rep. Joe Fitzgibbon (Burien), vice-chair
  • Public Safety: Rep. Roger Goodman (Kirkland), chair; Rep. Mary Helen Roberts (Lynnwood), vice-chair
  • Technology and Economic Development: Rep. Jeff Morris (Mount Vernon), chair; Rep. Cyrus Habib (Bellevue), vice-chair

Fiscal Committees

  • Appropriations: Rep. Ross Hunter (Medina), chair; Rep. Timm Ormsby (Spokane), vice-chair
  • Capital Budget: Rep. Hans Dunshee (Snohomish), chair; Rep. Derek Stanford (Bothell), vice-chair
  • Finance: Rep. Reuven Carlyle (Seattle), chair; Rep. Steve Tharinger (Sequim), vice-chair
  • Transportation: Rep. Judy Clibborn (Mercer Island), chair; Rep. Jake Fey (Tacoma), vice-chair; Rep. Marko Liias (Edmonds), vice-chair; Rep. Luis Moscoso (Mountlake Terrace), vice-chair
  • Appropriations Subcommittee on Education: Rep. Kathy Haigh (Shelton), chair
  • Appropriations Subcommittee on General Government: Rep. Zack Hudgins (Tukwila), chair
  • Appropriations Subcommittee on health and Human Services: Rep. Dawn Morrell (Puyallup), chair