House Democrats select leaders for 2015-16

The House Democratic Caucus met in Olympia today and selected a number of leaders for the next Legislature.

speaker frank chopp
Speaker-designate Frank Chopp
  • Frank Chopp (Seattle): House Speaker-designate
  • Pat Sullivan (Covington): Majority Leader
  • Eric Pettigrew (Seattle): Majority Caucus Chair
  • Kevin Van De Wege (Sequim): Majority Whip
  • Kris Lytton (Anacortes): Majority Floor Leader

The remaining members of the HDC Leadership team, including the Speaker pro tem-designate, will be elected at a future date.

The Speaker-designate and Speaker pro tem-designate must be elected by the entire House on the first day of the 2015 session.