Rep. Frank Chopp, Seattle (43) Frank was born and raised in Bremerton; his father worked in the shipyard and his mom worked in the school cafeteria. He graduated with honors from the University of Washington in 1975, and started his career as a community organizer with a passion for social justice. Frank was elected to the House of Representatives in 1994 and became Speaker in 2002. As Speaker, Frank has committed himself to policies that reflect his community-organizer values – a strong public education system, health care for every child, good-paying jobs, and protecting the safety net.
Speaker Pro Tem
Rep. Jim Moeller, Vancouver (49) A Vancouver resident, Jim has been a chemical-dependency counselor at Kaiser Permanente for 27 years. Jim has a bachelor’s degree in psychology from Washington State University, he did graduate work in social work at Portland State University, and he’s a graduate of the Mark Hatfield School of Government at Portland State. Now in his fifth term serving the 49th District in the House, Jim is the House Speaker Pro Tempore. Jim has had positions on the Senate/House Joint Taskforce on Revising the Child Support Schedule.
Deputy Speaker Pro Tem
Rep. Tina Orwall, Des Moines (33) As a legislator, strategic planner in health care and workforce development, affordable housing advocate, and community leader, Tina has fought for improved services and responsive government for people throughout the Puget Sound. For more than a decade Tina has exemplified her commitment to the most vulnerable populations of Washington through her work as an advocate for the homeless and as a legislator. Tina is an active member of the Des Moines Rotary Club and Kent Chamber of Commerce.
Majority Leader
Rep. Pat Sullivan, Covington (47) Pat Sullivan was elected to represent the 47th Legislative District in the House of Representatives in 2004. He is the Majority Leader and serves on the Ways and Means Committee. A graduate of the University of Washington, Pat has a long history of being involved in his community. He was the first mayor of Covington and has served on the Economic Development Council. Pat’s legislative priorities include building a strong economy by investing in education, creating good paying jobs with benefits and affordable health care.
Majority Caucus Chair
Rep. Eric Pettigrew, Seattle (37) Eric Pettigrew was raised by a single mother in South Central Los Angeles. After high school, Eric studied sociology and counseling psychology at Oregon State University on a football scholarship. Eric has a diverse background, having served as Deputy Chief of Staff for Public Safety to former Seattle Mayor Norm Rice and as a recruiter to increase diversity in the UW School of Social Work, among other positions. First elected to the House in 2002, Eric was chosen in 2010 to serve as House Democratic Caucus Chair, which makes Eric the highest-ranking African American in the Legislature.
Majority Whip
Rep. Kevin Van De Wege, Sequim (24) Kevin Van De Wege is a firefighter, paramedic, husband and father. A lifelong Washington resident, he is currently serving his fourth term in the House. As a young child, Kevin’s parents instilled the values of family and service in him. When he was old enough to serve his community, Kevin became a volunteer firefighter. He went on to earn fire administration and fire investigation degrees, as well as paramedic certification. He also received a BA in Social Science from Washington State University. Kevin was first elected to the House in 2006.
Majority Floor Leader
Kristine Lytton (28) Now in her third term in the legislature, Kristine Lytton represents the 40th legislative district, which includes San Juan County and parts of Skagit and Whatcom Counties. She is the vice chair of the House Agriculture and Natural Resources Committee and is a member of the Education Committee and Finance Committee. Kristine is passionate about education issues, having served two terms on the Anacortes School Board. Her in-depth knowledge and focus on finding solutions for children have earned her a reputation as a leader on education in Olympia.
Deputy Majority Floor Leader
Rep. Steve Bergquist, Renton (11)
Deputy Majority Floor Leader
Rep. Gael Tarleton, Seattle (36)
Deputy Majority Whip
Rep. Marcus Riccelli, Spokane (3) Marcus was born and raised in Spokane, graduating from Mead High School and Gonzaga University. In 2007, he received a Master of Public Administration from the University of Washington. After graduating from UW, Marcus served as U.S. Senator Maria Cantwell’s Eastern Washington Director. He served as Senior Policy Advisor to State Senate Majority Leader Lisa Brown from 2010 to 2012. As a representative, Marcus serves on the Health Care, Higher Education, Capital Budget and Transportation committees.
Deputy Majority Whip
Rep. Cindy Ryu, Shoreline (32)
Deputy Majority Leader Jobs & Economic Development
Rep. Larry Springer, Kirkland (45) Larry Springer is the Deputy Majority Leader for Jobs & Economic Development in the House of Representatives. He’s a lifelong resident of East King County and served 11 years on the Kirkland City Council, including 4 as Mayor. Owner of a retail wine store since 1985, Larry is proud of his family run small business. Over the years, Larry has been an advocate for education, economic development, social responsibility, diversity, the arts and creating “community.” As a City Council member and Mayor, Larry earned many awards, including the National Distinguished Leadership Award, and “Kirkland’s Favorite Elected Official.”