Washington State House Democrats


House Democrats add to leadership team

At a meeting of the House Democratic Caucus today, Representative Eric Pettigrew (D-Seattle) was chosen as caucus chair. He has been the Chair of the Health and Human Services Appropriations Committee for the past two years.

Also elected were:

  • Rep. Jim Moeller (D-Vancouver) as Speaker Pro-Tem designate. He will be approved by the entire House on the opening day of the 2011 session.
  • Rep. Tami Green (D-Lakewood) as Majority Floor Leader. She has served as Deputy Majority Floor Leader for the past two years.

They join Speaker-designate Frank Chopp, Majority Leader Pat Sullivan, and Majority Whip Kevin Van De Wege, who were elected last month.

Additional leadership positions will be filled at a later date.