Washington State House Democrats


Frank Chopp unanimously elected as Speaker-designate by House Democrats

OLYMPIA – The House Democratic Caucus met in Olympia today and selected a number of leaders for the next Legislature.

Frank Chopp (Seattle) was unanimously re-elected as House Speaker-designate.

Pat Sullivan (Covington) will replace the retiring Lynn Kessler as Majority Leader.  Rep. Sullivan has been the vice chair of the House Ways and Means Committee the past two years.

Dawn Morrell (Puyallup) was re-elected Majority Caucus Chair, pending the outcome of her too-close-to-call race in the 25th Legislative District.

Kevin Van De Wege (Sequim) was selected as Majority Whip.  He has served two years as Assistant Majority Whip.

The remaining members of the HDC Leadership team, including the Speaker pro tem-designate, will be elected during the December Assembly Days.

The Speaker-designate and Speaker pro tem-designate must be elected by the entire House on the first day of the 2011 session.