Washington State House Democrats


House Democrats finalize 2017 committee assignments

OLYMPIA – The House Democratic Caucus today approved the committee chairs and vice chairs for the upcoming legislative session. (Click here for a complete HDC committee list.)

The committee structure will remain largely the same from the last biennium with one exception: The General Government and Information Technology Committee has been eliminated. The issues considered by that committee will be distributed to other committees.

*change from previous session

Policy Committees
Agriculture and Natural Resources
Rep. Brian Blake (Aberdeen), chair
*Rep.-elect Mike Chapman (Port Angeles), vice-chair

Business and Financial Services
Rep. Steve Kirby (Tacoma), chair
*Rep.-elect Kristine Reeves (Federal Way), vice-chair

Commerce and Gaming
*Rep. David Sawyer (Parkland), chair
*Rep.-elect Shelley Kloba (Kirkland), vice-chair

Community Development, Housing, and Tribal Affairs
Rep. Ryu (Shoreline), chair
*Rep.-elect Nicole Macri (Seattle), vice-chair

Early Learning and Human Services
Rep. Ruth Kagi (Seattle), chair
Rep. Tana Senn (Mercer Island), vice-chair

Rep. Sharon Tomiko Santos (Seattle), chair
*Rep.-elect Monica Stonier (Vancouver), vice-chair
*Rep.-elect Laurie Dolan (Olympia), vice-chair

Rep. Joe Fitzgibbon (Burien), chair
Rep. Strom Peterson (Edmonds), vice-chair

Health Care and Wellness
Rep. Eileen Cody (West Seattle), chair
*Rep.-elect Nicole Macri (Seattle), vice-chair

Higher Education
Rep. Drew Hansen (Bainbridge Island), chair
Rep. Gerry Pollet (Seattle), vice-chair

Rep. Laurie Jinkins (Tacoma), chair
Rep. Christine Kilduff (University Place), vice-chair

Labor & Workplace Standards
Rep. Mike Sells (Everett), chair
Rep. Mia Gregerson (SeaTac), vice-chair

Local Government

Rep. Sherry Appleton (Poulsbo), chair;
*Rep. Joan McBride (Kirkland), vice-chair

Public Safety
Rep. Roger Goodman (Kirkland), chair
*Rep.-elect Mike Pellicciotti (Federal Way), vice-chair

State Government
*Rep. Zack Hudgins (Tukwila), chair
*Rep. Patty Kuderer (Bellevue), vice-chair

Technology and Economic Development
Rep. Jeff Morris (Mount Vernon), chair
Rep. Gael Tarleton (Ballard), vice-chair

Fiscal Committees
Rep. Timm Ormsby (Spokane), chair
*Rep. June Robinson (Everett), vice-chair

Capital Budget
Rep. Steve Tharinger (Sequim), chair
*Rep. Strom Peterson (Edmonds), vice-chair
*Rep.-elect Beth Doglio (Olympia), vice-chair

Rep. Kris Lytton (Anacortes), chair
*Rep. Noel Frame (Seattle), vice-chair

Rep. Judy Clibborn (Mercer Island), chair
Rep. Jessyn Farrell (Seattle), vice-chair
Rep. Jake Fey (Tacoma), vice-chair
*Rep. Sharon Wylie (Vancouver), vice-chair