Washington State House Democrats


The Caucus Newsroom

Click here to sign up to receive latest news from the House Democratic Caucus.

WA Legislators request federal disaster unemployment assistance for independent contractors

The Senate and House Democratic Caucuses have requested that the federal government unlock disaster unemployment assistance for thousands of independent contractors in Washington who are losing work during the coronavirus... READ MORE

Statement from legislative leaders in support of Stay Home, Stay Healthy

OLYMPIA – Senate Majority Leader Andy Billig (D-Spokane), Speaker of the House Laurie Jinkins (D-Tacoma), Senate Minority Leader Mark Schoesler (R-Ritzville) and House Minority Leader JT Wilcox (R-Yelm) released the... READ MORE

Walen bill providing debt buying transparency signed into law

OLYMPIA – On Wednesday, March 18, Gov. Jay Inslee signed bipartisan legislation (Substitute House Bill 2476) to provide more transparency around debt collection practices from companies which buy and sell... READ MORE

HDC logo
‘We’re stepping up’: House approves final supplemental budget addressing emergent needs across state

OLYMPIA – The House gave final approval today to a supplemental state operating budget focused on the state’s emergent needs such as housing insecurity and homelessness, child care access and... READ MORE

HDC logo
House and Senate reach agreement on facial recognition rules

House and Senate reach agreement on facial recognition rules OLYMPIA – On Thursday, March 12, the Washington state House of Representatives and Senate reached a final compromise on legislation (Senate... READ MORE

Spokane Lawmakers Applaud Funds for Local Construction Projects

OLYMPIA – Spokane is getting a big boost for local construction projects from the state capital budget which passed the Legislature today. In it are projects championed by Reps. Marcus... READ MORE

HDC logo
House and Senate do not reach agreement on Washington Privacy Act

OLYMPIA – Rep. Zack Hudgins, D-Tukwila, issued the following statement today on the Washington Privacy Act (Senate Bill 6281). “Our modern innovation economy is fueled as much by the data... READ MORE

Johnson Passes Education, Environment, and At-Risk Youth Bills through Legislature

OLYMPIA – In his very first legislative session, Rep. Jesse Johnson, D-Federal Way, prioritized youth, children, and infants as he worked in Olympia. That led to the passage of four... READ MORE

LEGISLATIVE NEWS: Legislature approves anti-swatting measure

OLYMPIA – The Washington State Legislature has approved a bill to increase punishments for false emergency reporting. Known as swatting, this practice sends heavily armed law enforcement to the homes... READ MORE

Rep. Pettigrew’s bill increasing social equity in cannabis industry heads to Gov. Inslee

OLYMPIA — The Legislature gave final approval today (Tue., Mar. 10) to a bill intended to improve equity in the awarding of licenses to participate in Washington’s cannabis industry. House... READ MORE